On Grace & Flow…

You know when you have it, and you feel it when you don’t.

When I’m working & living from a place of grace, things happen in a most spiritually guided, simple manner.

And when I’m not and I’m forcing things, I feel it. I feel the tension in my actions, I feel the resistance in the activity.

I had a great conversation with a good friend about grace & flow in work & life. And while I don’t currently live & work within the confines & structure of a typical 9-to-5 timecard-punching position, I find this principle even more noticeable & apparent in my life today.

My focus is to live my actions more from a place of grace and less from a place of self.

Thomas Moore’s Life at Work argues that “beneath the surface, your labors are shaping your destiny for better or worse. If you ignore the deeper issues, you may not know the nature of your calling, and if you don’t do work that connects with your deep soul, you may always be dissatisfied, not only in your choice of work but in all other areas of life.”

It’s a fabulous book that I recommend highly for anyone searching their soul for meaning, purpose & impact in their work & lives. It’s led me on a journey of many self-realizations and truths as to what my “work” in life is – in all areas of my life.

It’s flipped the popular societal notion of work on its head and led me to see the body of work in how I live and what I do.

Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.” 1st Peter 4:10

When I live from that place, it flows. When I don’t, I suffer & toil. It just took me some years to be able to see it.

Leave a comment